• Ms. Coffey

"Nightborn" (The Hollow King #2) by Jessica Thorne

Thank you NetGalley for a copy of Nightborn in exchange for a review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.


About the book:

"Like deep dark water, it pulls them down. The faint fire of magic within them flickers and dies. Their eyes turn black as night. They are nightborn now.


Grace Marchant has been many things: streetwise orphan, rebellious servant, and now beloved companion of Prince Bastien, heir to the throne of Larelwynn. But their sunlit happiness is not destined to last. The golden magic which brought them together in purest passion is threatened by strange and ancient forces. Innocent people are becoming nightborn – cruel, deadly, unrecognisable to their loved ones – and these two young lovers are the only ones with power enough to stop it.


In times of peace, striking a deal with their closest enemy would be unthinkable, but now their only hope is to ally with the neighbouring Valenti royal family: manipulative, cunning, and always with an eye on the Larelwynn throne. The partnership comes at a devastating price… if Grace wants to defeat the nightborn, she must watch Bastien marry a Valenti princess.


Grace knows she must make this heart-wrenching sacrifice for the good of the whole kingdom – but she also fears the magic in her veins, usually so warm and bright, is turning cold as deepest midnight. A beguiling darkness whispers to her from within. Is Grace herself becoming nightborn?


Time is running out. With Bastien promised to another, and a stony distance growing between them, will Grace find the source of the nightborn curse before every last soul is consumed by the darkness?


Combining sizzling romance, courtly intrigue, and heart-in-your-mouth action, this dark and addictive fantasy series is perfect for fans of Graceling and Emily R. King." (Goodreads)


Review:


Wow. I was left pretty speechless at the end of this one. Nightborn picks up right after Mageborn, and I forgot how addicting this story is. 


The plot is fast-paced, and there was always something driving the story forward. There were also quite moments that I thoroughly enjoyed. 


The writing style is simple and straightforward. I definitely saw an improvement from Mageborn. Everything is also organized, and I was never confused. 


Now, the world-building in this one definitely expands further than Mageborn, but I was still left wanting more. I feel like the true magic of this world just skimmed the surface of how everything truly worked.


I'm going to be honest; lately, I have been reading so many books where I completely forget the character's names, that I have to look them up when I go to write the review. But I DONT THINK I CAN FORGET ABOUT GRACE AND BASTINE. I don't know what it is, but I finished this book two days ago, and I can't stop thinking about them. I absolutely loved their connection, banter, and everything that happened between them. These two are my favorites, but Nightborn also has a great cast of supporting characters as well. 


I highly recommend this one for fans of Susan Dennard, Sarah J. Maas, and Victoria Schwab. If you are looking for fantasy with elemental magic and romance, then this one is for you. 

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

Coffey's Corner Book . Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon